(614) 398-0734 info@ohedta.org

About Us

Ohio Thespians

Ohio Thespians is a chapter of the Educational Theatre Association (EdTA) — a national nonprofit organization with over 100,000 active student and professional members.

Our Story

Ohio Thespians were founded in 1975, and enjoy over 7,000 active members in 428 high schools and junior high schools across the state.

What We Offer

We empower thespians through educational enrichment opportunities, access to scholarships, college auditions, awards, competitions, and a passionate network of peers. We support teachers by providing professional development, networking opportunities, resources, and recognition.

Our Mission

Our mission is to shape lives through theatre education, honoring student achievement in theatre and enriching their  overall education experience.

International Thespian Society

The EdTA operates the International Thespian Society (ITS), an honorary organization that has inducted more than 2.2 million theatre students since its founding in 1929. Each year, more than 40,000 students from around the country join our number. Today, over 4,000 secondary schools are home to a thespian troupe.

Ohio Thespians

Find Your Area

Northwest Area

Allen, Auglaize, Defiance, Fulton, Hancock, Hardin, Henry, Logan, Lucas, Mercer, Paulding, Putnam, Shelby, Van Wert, Williams, and Wood counties.

Learn more

North Area

Ashland, Crawford, Erie, Holmes, Huron, Lorain, Medina, Ottawa, Richland, Sandusky, Seneca, Wayne, and Wyandot counties.

Learn more 

Northeast Area

Ashtabula, Carroll, Columbiana, Cuyahoga, Geauga, Harrison, Jefferson, Lake, Mahoning, Portage, Stark, Summit, Trumbull, and Tuscarawas counties.

Learn more

Central Area

Belmont, Coshocton, Delaware, Fairfield, Franklin, Guernsey, Knox, Licking, Madison, Marion, Monroe, Morgan, Morrow, Muskingham, Noble, Perry, Pickaway, and Union counties.

Learn more

Southwest Area

Brown, Butler, Champaign, Clark, Clermont, Clinton, Darke, Greene, Hamilton, Miami, Montgomery, Preble, and Warren counties.


Learn more 

South Area

Adams, Athens, Fayette, Gallia, Highland, Hocking, Jackson, Lawrence, Meigs, Pike, Ross, Scioto, Vinton, and Washington counties.

Learn more

Share This