(614) 398-0734 info@ohiothespians.org

Congratulations to Centerville High School’s Bryan Miller, Ohio EdTA Theatre Educator of the Year!

We are delighted to announce the selection of Bryan Miller as the 2017 Theatre Educator of the Year. Miller is the Performing Arts Center Technical Director at Centerville High School, and was chosen from a pool of student-nominated applicants in recognition of his extraordinary commitment to theatre education.

“Our program is very fortunate to have someone as dedicated as Bryan Miller. There have been many nights where he stays at the school late at night to finish designing, programing and/or running concerts, only to be back first thing in the morning,” says senior Samuel Cobb. “He wants the students he works with to fully understand what he’s doing and allows and encourages them to be hands on.”

Miller has eleven years of theatre experience, having been part of 50 productions at numerous greater-Dayton area theatres, including Sinclair Community College’s Blair Hall Theatre, Beavercreek Community Theatre, Chaminade Julienne High School, Stivers School for the Arts, and Fairmont High School. He recently won DayTony Awards in Lighting and Special Effects Design and High School DayTony Awards in Lighting and Sound Design.

In addition to his many contributions to the Centerville High School Theatre program, Miller is also the technical director for Forte, Centerville High’s award-winning a cappella group.

“I’m interested in audio engineering and sound design, and over the last two and a half years, Mr. Miller has given me countless opportunities with our a cappella group, Forte,” says senior Sara Parrott. “One experience in particular was when he allowed me to mix for them on our full-digital console for the first time. He walked me through what all of the different buttons did and how the effects and EQs worked. It was complicated to understand, but he patiently answered my questions and corrected my mistakes. This experience and others helped me grow as a sound designer and a cappella audio engineer.”

Miller will be formally recognized at the 2017 Ohio Thespian State Conference in Dublin, Ohio on March 25.