Congratulations to JoBeth Gonzalez, PhD and Scott Wilson Our 2017 Hall of Fame Inductees

Dr. JoBeth Gonzalez – known affectionately as Dr. G by her students – has been a leading advocate for theatre education in Ohio for decades. As a teacher at Bowling Green High School, she has directed innumerable plays and musicals, and served as the long-time leader of her school’s thespian troupe. Over 23 years at BGHS, she has earned a reputation for addressing challenging subjects of special relevance to her students, including eating disorders, teen suicide, bullying, and human trafficking.

“Several years ago, JoBeth and I were part of a research group called Critical Links at the Educational Theatre Association. I had known JoBeth prior to that project, but became even more aware of the depth of care that she brings every day to her students and to her craft,” says Irene Imboden, Ohio EdTA co-director. “JoBeth is my inspiration. I often tease her, saying ‘When I grow up, I want to be JoBeth.’”

Gonzalez is the author of two books: Temporary Stages and Temporary Stages II: Critically-Oriented Drama Education, which have inspired many theatre teachers to provide audition feedback rather than posting of cast lists. She is the past president for the American Alliance for Theatre and Education, the 2014-2015 Ohio EdTA Theatre Educator of the Year, and Bowling Green State University College of Education and Human Development’s 2016 Educator of the Year.

Scott Wilson has taught theatre in Westerville, Olentangy and Columbus Public Schools for 19 years, directing numerous plays and musicals in that time. His work with students at Centennial High helped earn the school the 2011 Outstanding School Award from the Educational Theatre Association. From 2012-2014, Wilson was a member of the writing team for the National Coalition for Core Arts Standards, helping drive the conversation and establish national standards for theatre. Since 2001, he has been a member of the Ohio EdTA Board of Directors, serving on a variety of committees and as chapter director from 2009-2013.

“During Scott’s tenure as Ohio Chapter Director, he started the Send a Troupe grant in order to help troupes that couldn’t afford to come to conference,” says Pat Santanello, Ohio EdTA co-director. “Scott is always thinking of what benefits students, whether it’s raising money for thespian scholarships, raising money for Send a Troupe, or working with the International Thespian Officers. He is a reminder of the impact one person can make.”

Wilson recently achieved his Masters Degree in School Counseling and transitioned into a counseling role within Columbus Public Schools. Over his many years in education, Wilson has demonstrated his dedication to Ohio students through his creation of curriculum, his establishing of key educational standards, a focus on troupe development, directing, and producing.

Hall of Fame members are recognized for their extraordinary commitment to the Ohio EdTA mission and values. Gonzalez and Wilson will be formally inducted at the state conference in Dublin, Ohio on March 25, 2017.